Good Devotions for God’s Little Princesses

OYMPD (1)When I received The One Year My Princess Devotions: Preschool Edition (Tyndale House, 2013) my daughter, who is 3 1/2, was super excited that daddy got a book which was, “Just right for me”. She loved the pictures of the princesses on the cover, because one happens to look like her and the other just happens to look like a friend of hers. She wanted to dive right in and get to it.

She wanted me to read past the day which the devotion allots for the daily reading. She wanted me to keep going and read the rest of the month, and knowing my daughter, the rest of the book.

I thought the daily readings were put together well, though the application could be a little less than what is needed by some children. It’s hard to write a general devotion and include all of the children in the application portion, though simple activities. I found that some of them were not suited for all situations. Take the following example:

Lights in the Sky

Royal Words: God put the lights in the huge space of the sky to give light to the earth. Gen 1:17.

Princess Thoughts: God wanted us to see the world he made. He made lights to help us see.

Prayer: Creator God, thank you for making light so I can see what is around me.

Princess in Action: Before you go to sleep tonight, use a flashlight to shine into the corners of your room. What might look scary in the dark may be a stuffed animal or a toy,

A good general devotion overall but I think the author could have done a bit better with the application or explanation of the text. While I know little kids aren’t getting excited about hermeneutics or exegesis but I thought the application could have been geared more towards creation and less towards having light to see. I’m not saying this is a bad application, for my daughter loves playing with our flashlights and finding things in the dark, but I had to make the application more suitable for the teaching of scriptural truths. I would use this devotion more for a scripture memory tool since every day comes with a scripture in purple font which my daughter loves to read.  I will continue to use this devotion for my daughter but with some modifications to it.

This is a good beginners devotion providing that the parents add a bit of their own tailor-made applications for their families. It’s visually appealing for little girls, beautifully adorned with red and purple ladybugs, purple crowns, and pink girly fonts. I am glad that there are tools like this that exist out there for little girls like my daughter.

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

