Book Review: Deeply Loved by Keri Wyatt Kent

deeply-loved-2I’m not usually big on devotionals. I tend to grab a passage of scripture and meditate on it or find a sermon which has the same passage in mind. This year, however, I decided to give some devotionals a try and have come out unscathed for the most part. My most recent excursion has come in the form of Deeply Loved: 40 Ways in 40 Days to Experience the Heart of Jesus by Keri Wyatt Kent.

The first chapter got me off to a cheerful start as I was exposed to the love of God towards me and how much He does truly love his children. From one viewpoint though, I could see how this could start one off on a happy “Osteen-like” trail. That trail was quickly extinguished as the pages continued to turn. I was led through days of being distracted, abiding in Christ, being vulnerable, confession and remembrance. Keri does an excellent job of keeping the main things the main things and letting everything else fall to the wayside. She writes in such a way that the reader can’t help but focus on main point throughout each day.

At the end of each chapter Keri includes a section which summarizes that days content in what she calls presence practice. These sections are useful for meaningful application of the material each day presents. Another thing I appreciated about this text is the way it build up towards the culmination of the 40 days, or as some people call it, Easter. It’s only fitting that day 40 end with celebration as is the tradition of most Christians, to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.

Deeply Loved is an excellent devotional for personal reflection and daily illumination. I recommend it not only for its main light falling on Christ but for its readability and it’s variety of helpful applications. It crosses the boundaries of class or race and cuts right to the core of who we are as children of the Most High God. I also recommend that you would also take this devotional and use it for times other than Lent, though its main application is for that season.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

