Reboot Your Bible Reading Plan: 31 Days in Romans

Comforts from RomanReturning from a walk on New Year’s Day we happened upon our neighbor in her front yard, putting away Christmas decorations. She inquired about our holiday and whether we made any New Year’s resolutions. I confessed I hadn’t, simply because I’m old and know well where all those good resolutions end up. She agreed, but then said she would still try to tweak a couple things in her life. I smiled and thought, “Yes. And then next year you’ll probably hit rewind again.”

I love the thought of rewinding, of starting over. I’d love to have a new identity, to be the woman I always wanted to be. But alas, I’m 62, eligible for Social Security, a grandmother of 6, and the days of deciding what I’m going to be when I grow up are far past. Yet, every year, about this time there is a pernicious hope that this year will be different. This year I’m going to get it together and show God and everybody else that I really am better. And then, right around March 1st or so, I realize it’s not going to happen this year either.

Click here to see the entire article from the Crossway Blog and be sure to follow us on Mondays in March as we read through Romans 8.

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

