Book Review: I am not but I know I AM by Louie Giglio

9781601424280_p0_v1_s260x420Louie Giglio is perhaps best known for the Passion Conferences which fill every year with people who are hungering after a personal encounter with the Jesus Christ of the Bible. He also leads a huge congregation in Atlanta, Passion City Church. What many may not know about him is that he heads up Sixstep Records which carries the likes of Chris Tomlin and Charlie Hall. But the most important thing about Louie Giglio is his passion to make the glory of God known among the nations, to the very ends of the earth. This passion is contagious and just hearing him speak on the subject gives listeners a feeling of passion growing up inside of them leading to an overflowing of praise.

In I am not but I know I AM, Louie Giglio continues this trend of making God’s fame known. He presents to us a huge picture of God, which many of us have never taken into consideration. It’s clear to understand why Louie loves Astronomy when he compares the galaxies and planets to the greatness of God. This idea is best presented in this book when Louie tells us of our smallness before God.

I have no idea how small I really am. Or how big God really is.

The style that Louie uses is very understandable even when he’s speaking of star clusters and light years. He has a way of making the text of the Bible alive live very few in this generation can. Perhaps the greatest thing I found in this book was the small view in which Louie saw himself when compared to the infinite God of the universe. It brings a picture in my mind which I can see Louie saying, “I must decrease so that He can increase”. We must all learn to join this Passion Movement and stand with those who hunger and thirst and simply say I am not but I know I AM. What could be more important in this vapor of a life than standing before the throne of God and seeing him exalted?

Another aspect of this book which may be extremely helpful was the view of God’s sovereignty that Louie holds. Many in this generation think that ultimately it is they who are responsible for this life. They believe they must live a good life in order to be accepted or make more money so that they may enjoy the comfort of a security system in a gated neighborhood. Louie shatters this notion when he speaks of the cross of Christ.

Like with John we don’t know how the pieces fit together. But in the shadow of the Cross, we do know that they do fit together. And we know that while Jesus chose not to intervene in John’s arrest, He knew full well the details of His own. Had John been released from Herod’s grasp, he would have been shocked to see this very Jesus hanging on a tree. and he would have come face to face with the overcoming truth that God uses everything for our good and His glory.

I commend this book to those who need a bigger view of God. It’s an easy read, worth the week it will take for anyone to get through this text. Louie Giglio is speaking passion into a new generation of believers but more importantly he is making God’s fame known to a generation who, unfortunately, has not seen the mighty works of God done among them in a  long time.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

