Book Review: Grace by Max Lucado

9780849949869It’s been a long time since I have read anything from Max Lucado, not because I don’t enjoy his writing, but moreseo because I have been so busy trying to read books that find themselves in the realm of systematic theology. What gripped me about Grace (Thomas Nelson 2012) was the compelling style which Lucado constantly employs in much of his writing.

As long as the cross is God’s gift to the world, it ill touch you but not change you. precious as it is to proclaim, “Christ died for the world,” ever sweeter it is to whisper, “Christ died for me.”

It’s hard not to like Max Lucado. A book list that reads like a concordance and a ministry abounding with insightful looks into scripture, what can anyone do but be touched and stirred by his books? His writing style lends to quick reading, (It took me 3 days to read Grace), and always touches the reader at some point. If the first couple chapters of any of his books don’t reach you, then you simply haven’t read far enough into his books.

Lucado is a master storyteller and it’s hard not to notice his passionate dealings with the grace of God. I was pulled in by the narrative and kept there by the glimpses of grace behind the veil. Lucado leads his readers on a journey into the deep sea of grace while doing well to keep his readers from getting lost at the same time. The language used in Grace is simple enough for a reader of any age to grasp its truths but is profound to a point that it will not leave you with the same understanding of grace that you had when you began reading.

It wasn’t that the people didn’t believe in grace at all. They did. They believed in grace a lot. They just didn’t believe in grace alone. They wanted to add to the work of Christ.

While grace is something that can go horribly wrong and be turned on its head so that it’s no longer grace, quotes like this can bring one back to a fundamental understanding of grace. Grace is not something we can earn, the Bible makes it abundantly so, but is based on the work of Christ. Notice the simply message but the deep application. Anyone can understand grace but not everyone can take grace at a heart level and be changed by it. This book will help you do that. It will allow grace to travel freely from the mind straight to the heart so that a real change can be made. I commend this book to everyone, not just those who know Christ. It may be useful for Christians but I believe may have a greater impact on those outside the Body of God. I know this book will find it’s place on my shelf. A book I hope my children will read one day so they also may be touched by the grace of God.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

