Have we forgotten about the real miracle of Christ?

jesus-christ-on-cross-0108-600x780While talking with a friend over the Thanksgiving holidays I was told that in reading her church constitution it stated, “we as a church do not believe in miracles.” Much to my surprise, as well as hers, there was no follow-up explanation to that terminology. There were no reasons of what type of miracles they did not believe in, nor did they offer an alternative to miracles. Immediately that statement brought my mind to the pages of scripture, namely Titus 3:4-7.

” But when the kindness of God our Saviour, and his love toward man, appeared,  not by works done in righteousness, which we did ourselves, but according to his mercy he saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, which he poured out upon us richly, through Jesus Christ our Saviour; that, being justified by his grace, we might be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.”

This to me is a definitive miracle in any sense, that God would reach down from his throne and instill in me a heart that was inclined to give him praise instead of hating him constantly. God washed me of my detestable sin and filled me with his righteousness, not because of anything I had done but because of his righteousness. This is a huge miracle, but also it remains a paradox in terms of explaining how this happens.

A miracle simply defined is an extraordinary even in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause. As a Christian this definition becomes more personal and plays itself out in the sense that God has removed the barrier and the judgement that stood between He and I by sending me his Son to stand in my stead and receive the just punishment that was owed to me. My salvation is nothing short of the greatest miracle and the greatest sacrifice that could ever be displayed.

I’m befuddled by anyone who would claim that miracles do not happen today. I’m not speaking of those crazy people either who see statues that cry blood or find Jesus’ face in a bag of chips. I’m speaking of regenerate Christians who by the grace of God have been turned from dark to light, from death to life. We must see the saving work of Christ upon the cross as a miracle that we were not fit to receive, but in his sovereignty and by his power, while we were still sinners Christ died for us. Let this miracle of regeneration be alive in you today and do not reject God as they did in the desert. Do not stiffen your neck towards the miracles that God still pours out on us today. Turn to God and see his miracles then, with a triumphant voice I say; Rejoice!

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

