Not so new reviews: No Longer a Slumdog by K.P. Yohannan

Several years ago I started to find out about this ministry giving away a free book regarding the untouchable masses of India. When I received my copy of, Revolution in World Missions I could not put it down until I read it from front to back, then again with a highlighter in hand. The book stirred in me a renewed passion for the lost people of the world. K.P. Yohannan speaks from his own personal experience with the lost and dying of India and presents the stories in a gut-wrenching fashion. All that to say, I was excited to hear that K.P. was working on a new book specifically about the children who live in the slums of India.

No Longer a Slumdog arrived in my mail box shortly after ordering it from their website and I could not wait to dive into it. When I did, much like his first book, I could not put it down. The stories took me on a roller coaster of joy and hurt, love and hate, sorrow and elation. This book from cover to cover is filled with a compassionate plea from K.P. to not only profess that we are christians but to take God at his word and be christians who do something about it.

This book was not only stirring in its presentation of the stories but also includes pictures and links to videos that must be watched. These stories move us beyond our comfy bubbles of Christendom onto the harsh mission fields of the world. When you read this book, my prayer for you is that it wrecks your heart so that you are no longer the same. My passionate plea is that you listen to God and get out there and do something. If you are a comfortable christian and don’t feel like being an obedient christian then I urge you not to even think of reading this book.

Quotable Quotes:

Jesus is warning us that when we hear about needy children, we need to be careful not to see their plight as unworthy of our attention. We can’t simply say, “Yes, I know it’s awful. Those terrible people hurting children should be stopped, and the little ones should be loved and cared for. But there’s nothing I can do about it”.

Once in a while God tries to break into our normal lives and tell us something important. He brings a matter to our attention that tears at our hearts, maybe even brings us to our knees. But then, sadly, so often that is all that happens. Although it consumes us for a little while and we can’t stoop thinking about it, eventually we start to explore something else and forget.

Also Check Out: Gospel for Asia

Order No Longer a Slumdog Here For Free

Order Revolution in World Mission Here For Free

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
We'd Love to Hear What You Think

