Book Review: Bringing Up Girls by Dr. James Dobson

When this book became available for review I immediately jumped at the chance to get my hands on it. Having a girl who is 2 1/2, I knew I needed some very trusted authors speaking to the issue of how to raise my baby girl. Living just down the street from the Focus on the Family HQ, and having been there several times, I knew of Dr. James Dobson and his extensive knowledge of parenting and it’s related issues. I have in my library several titles from Dr. Dobson and was thrilled to have added this book to that list.

This book is very easy to read and flows nicely from one theme to the next, without jumping around in the middle. I found it most helpful that the chapters, for the most part, did not have to be read in order but could be chewed on as separate pieces of the bigger puzzle. However, I did end up reading it from cover to cover, then went back through with my pen and rehashed the pieces I enjoyed the most. Each chapter was filled with very practical wisdom and didn’t sound too high for me to understand or grasp at what was being said. I enjoyed this book thoroughly and look forward to getting my hands on the companion book, Bringing Up Boys.

I would highly recommend this book to any body who is thinking of starting a family, even if you don’t know what gender your baby is going to be. I would also recommend it to families who have beautiful girls of their own and would like to raise them with advice from a trusted family counselor and author. The thing I most enjoyed regarding this book was that I was not forced to parent a certain way after reading it. What I mean is that Dr. Dobson offers very good advice and tips on what has worked and what has not worked. He does not come out and say you HAVE to do this or that to be a good parent, but offers readers the chance to see what has been proven most effective and what has not.

My Underlines:

Commitment to a woman not only channels a man’s energy and passions, it also helps to produce a more healthy society. (page 133)

Daughters tend to be third in line for the attention of the man of the family….fathers know intuitively that their boys require special attention, discipline, and leadership, but they are often unaware of how desperately their daughters also need them. (page 93)

They [moms] can and must meet similar needs for love and adoration, and in fact they do occupy their own real estate in a daughter’s heart. A girl without a mother’s love is a sad spectacle indeed, and I would not minimize the maternal role in any regard. But moms can’t be dads, and dads can’t be moms. This is why the current advocacy on behalf of same-sex marriage and homosexual adoption contradicts what is best for children. (page 88)

A girl’s sense of self-worth and personal dignity are directly linked to what she believes her father thinks of her. Mothers are important to girls in other ways, but there is something that only a dad can provide to his daughters. (page 84)

I received this book from Tyndale Publishers for review purposes. I was not forced to give a positive review, only one that accurately reflected the views I took on the book. Check out Tyndale Publishers at www.tyndale.com

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

