Book Review: My Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos

When I first ordered this book I was kind of disappointed that I had ordered a fiction book. I normally am against reading stories that are made up which do me no good as far as building me up with Godly wisdom. When I began to read this book my attitude changed greatly.

Within a couple of pages I was laughing hysterically as Matt Mikalatos conveyed an imaginary Jesus who could not fix parking tickets and an overweight guy named Pete. The story begins with Matt sitting in a coffee shop with his imaginary Jesus who happened to listen to an IPod and have gleaming white teeth. As I progressed in the story I was introduced to a huge array of images that people make Jesus into. They range anywhere to Testosterone Jesus who comes out at Men’s Ministry Camps and 8 Ball Jesus who only has a limited number of answers to any question.

While reading the stories and laughing out loud I had no idea of the punch in the gut that would accompany the last couple of chapters. My laughing turned into tears welling up in my eyes as I connected very deeply to the sort of true story that unfolded before my face. The moment was quiet as Jesus stood and wept, and oh how I felt those tears fall for me too. After the quiet moment with Christ I entered a room with another apostle and enjoyed some good time as I saw the gospel unfolded with a few arts and crafts items. If none of this makes sense to you then you will just have to pick up a copy and find out what I mean for yourself.

Matt Mikalatos has a fast paced writing style which is easy to understand. Full of humor, wonder, and reality, My Imaginary Jesus, was a perfect book at a perfect time in my life. I needed the laughter and I needed to see the Real Jesus in the midst of so many fake images. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves to laugh and be confused in wonder all at the same time. It made me question the images I have made Jesus into and helped to reveal areas in my life that I have made more comfortable to me in order not to face any sacrifice. I loved this book and will treasure the revelation it brought me through the wisdom of Christ in Matt.

I received this book complimentary from Tyndale House Publishers for writing this review. To pick up your copy of this amazing story just head over to Tyndale House Publishers Site

One Reply to “Book Review: My Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos”

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

