Book Review: Secure Daughters Confident Sons by Glenn T. Stanton

Glenn T. Stanton provides some very helpful insight in a generation where gender seems to be a confusing and hotly debated issue. He tells us how to authentically rear our children up with confidence that they are who God made them to be. Since they are made in God’s image, both male and female, Stanton tells us that, “Our definition of gender has to involve both nature and nurture to truly explain the essential difference and how we authentically live in our humanity throughout distinct cultures of the world. Our natures are real but so are our nurturing environments. If not, parenting would simply be about providing food, clothing, and shelter”.

I wholeheartedly agree with Stanton on this point. As a parent myself I find myself longing to provide my children with an environment in which I can raise them in the “admonition of the Lord”. Not only do I try to provide my children with an environment in which they can grow, I also try to provide them with teaching that allows them to struggle with the truths found in God’s word.

I found in this book a lacking of biblical basis for raising our children. I have read other parenting books and found them a little more biblically based than this one. There is a heavy emphasis on the biology and psychology that belongs to each gender specifically. I was saddened by the fact that the author, well versed in study, chose not to lean heavily on God’s word for examples on great parenting. Having said that, I recommend this book for parents who may be confused on how to correctly raise their children without being ignorant on gender neutrality. I believe that it is very important to have our children know what makes them a boy and what makes them a girl. I certainly worry about this with my children, not so much in a way that I am confused about gender roles, but in a way that false teachings of the world may reach the ears of my children.

One section I did learn from in this book was chapter twelve, which was about sexuality in our children. “Perhaps the biggest contributor to either good or bad stories for our own kids regarding their future sexual relationships isn’t whether they become masters of the Kama Sutra but how they view and value their own sex and sexuality as well as that of their future spouses. Sex is much less about technique and ability than it is about beliefs and the nature of the relationship in which the sexual exchanges take place”.

If you are unsure on how to raise your children in this “crooked and depraved generation”, then you should pick this book up. If nothing more, you will learn the psychology of how our male and female minds work very differently and how our body functions differ. I commend this book to those who are thinking of going into the fields of science, it is a very informative book and you will definitely learn from a well versed author in Glenn Stanton.

I received a copy of this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah publishers in exchange for writing this review.

Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah (2011)

Author: Glenn T. Stanton

Book Title: Secure Daughters Confident Sons – How parents guide their children into authentic masculinity and femininity.

Chapter One: http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/47194954?access_key=key-11lmt0rkheguhg5w807t

We'd Love to Hear What You Think

